How do I delete my WhatsApp account?

Whether it’s a desire to disconnect, a fear of viruses, or to conserve your phone’s battery, there are many reasons to want to quit WhatsApp. In this tutorial we will see together how to delete your WhatsApp account.

Delete whatsapp

WhatsApp is one of the most popular instant messaging services in the world, with almost 1.5 billion users. The application has had a client for PC and MAC for some time, as well as a dark mode. However, despite these regular improvements and additions, WhatsApp also remains one of the most vulnerable apps. the security error and the attacks are repeated, and unfortunately the examples are not lacking.

The application is also the subject of a very lively controversy: WhatsApp at times threatened its users to close their accounts if they did not agree to share their data with Facebook. In the face of the ensuing outcry, the publisher immediately made it clear that this decision did not apply to European users. Then finally more details on the data that was actually shared, explaining that only conversations with companies were recorded. A step backwards that drove out WhatsApp users en masse, who immediately left WhatsApp in favor of competing services like Signal.

Also, WhatsApp’s troubles aren’t over yet, as a recent report claims that WhatsApp lied about end-to-end message encryption. In November 2021, the application decided to display their credentials by disclosing all information collected about users. However, the list is quite long, which worries rather than reassures netizens. General location of the smartphone, numbers included in your directory, time/frequency/duration of use of the app, IP address, cookies, these are some of the data WhatsApp collects.

Immediately after WhatsApp was released, the FBI compiled a list of instant messaging apps that collect and share your information with the authorities. Unsurprisingly, the app is one of them. Indeed, and given this much controversy, you might want to do that Quit the application Instant messaging permanently. Here’s the process.

Delete your WhatsApp account in 3 steps

Unlike Spotify, it is possible to simply close your WhatsApp account from the mobile application:

  1. Open minded WhatsApp app on the phone and go to settingsat the top right of the screen
  2. Go in Account > delete my account
  3. Then enter your phone number in international format (+33 X XX XX XX) to confirm the deletion of your WhatsApp account

delete whatsapp account

Please note that this process is irreversible. Once the Confirmed deletion of your accountshe can no longer recover your chat history. Note that canceling your account will also result in deletion of your profile in all your WhatsApp groups and loss of your conversations saved in Google Drive. If material/personal/confidential information is found there, we encourage you to do soBack up your files before saying goodbye to WhatsApp.

How to backup WhatsApp messages

To save your WhatsApp messages, you also need to go Settings > conversations > save chats. Note that you also have the option to export your chats. Just open the conversation you want to save and tap the three small dots > More > Export discussion. Recording can be done with or without the media (photos, audio, videos) shared in a chat.

If you want to take your photos and videos with you, you need to choose an export option. You can save your archive in ZIP format directly on your smartphone. Note, however, that you’ll have to repeat the process for each conversation that contains files you want to keep. So take your time, plenty of time.

Save WhatsApp chats

Another clarification, you not be able to recover your account if you decide to return to the application one day.WhatsApp also specifies that copies of certain documents, such as log reports, can remain in their database while being separated from personal identifiers.

last important detail, WhatsApp agrees that your personal data shared with other Facebook-owned services will also be deleted. They are usually deleted from the servers within 90 days. Note, however, that copies of your information may remain in the backup storage used by WhatsApp even after 90 days. You will be exploited by the service for legal issues, breach of terms, or in an attempt.”of risk prevention”.

Also read: WhatsApp – important WhatsApp tips and tricks

Share <3